Group prizes

Plasma Surface Interactions Group Prizes

Thesis Prize

The IPSI group will provide an award for the year's most outstanding PhD thesis in the field. The group's remit can be found on the on the group page.

Contributions are sought from IOP members, who should also be IPSI group members (membership should be current upon submission and award). 

Entries should consist of a two page extended abstract on a completed (and examined) PhD thesis (examination in the period April 2017 – Oct 2018), explaining the outstanding nature of the work, and include IOP membership number and full contact details of both the student and their supervisor.

Entries must be submitted to the Secretary, Dr Erik Wagenaars at by 7 December 2018, and will be judged by a panel of the group officers. 

The winner will receive a certificate and £250. The winning entry will also be included on our website and newsletter.

Annual Poster Prize

The prize is usually presented during the IPSI group’s annual Plasmas, Surfaces and Thin Films meeting.

Students attending the event are encouraged to present a poster on their research work, relevant to the general field represented by the Ion and Plasma Surface Interactions Group.

All posters for which the first author is a student registered for the event will be judged on the basis of scientific content, effectiveness of communication and overall appearance. A £100 prize and certificate will be awarded to the winner.

Previous winners:

2016 Nessima Kaabeche (Manchester Metropolitan University)

2017 Chinasa Juliet Ojiako (Loughborough University)

2015 David Shaw (University of York)

2014 Camille Pieback (Manchester Metropolitan University)

2013 Miao Yu (Loughborough University)

2012 Randi Ramjattan and Maeva Roberto (Manchester Metropolitan University) Joint winners

Cookie Settings