High Energy Particle Physics Group

This is an IOP special interest group, which is a community of IOP members focused on a particular discipline, application or area of interest. Special interest groups allow members to connect and share knowledge and ideas. The IOP funds groups to deliver a range of activities including events, prizes and bursaries. All of our groups are driven by members.

About the group

As a special interest, member-driven group, we focus on the building blocks of matter. We support our members with meetings, prizes and an annual conference.

We are interested in how the smallest building blocks of matter interact with each other.

What the group does

We focus on:

  • representing our members to the Institute of Physics and external bodies 
  • early career prizes 
  • half-day meetings about topics suggested by our members
  • an annual three to four-day conference, often held jointly with other Institute groups

Would you like to join this group?

Group physics prizes and competitions

We have three prizes for physicists in the early stages of their career. 

To be nominated you will:

  • have worked for less than 12 years since the award of your first degree (excluding career breaks)
  • have carried out work while funded by a UK/Ireland institution
  • give consent to be nominated
  • not be a member of the High Energy Particle Physics Group committee

The winner is chosen by the High Energy Particle Physics Group committee members.

Members cannot nominate more than one candidate for each prize.

The High Energy Particle Physics Group Prize

This prize is awarded to an early career researcher for outstanding contributions to particle physics research. 

The prize is £500 and a certificate.



Dr Marco Gersabeck

Manchester. For his leadership in the area of Charmed Meson Physics.


Dr Sarah Malik

Imperial College. For her pioneering role in dark matter searches at colliders.


Tom Blake

Warwick, Royal Society Fellow. For his leadership in the study of rare B meson decays and lepton universality violation and other measurements at the LHCb Experiment.


Justin Evans

For his contributions to world-leading neutrino oscillation measurements at MINOS.


Jeff Hartnell

For his contributions to neutrino physics.


Christian Schwanenberger

For his contributions to top quark physics at the Tevatron.


Chris Lester

For developing SUSY analysis techniques for the LHC.


Chris Parkes

For his wide-ranging software, hardware and analysis achievements in particle physics.

The High Energy Particle Physics Science in Society Prize

This prize is for an early career researcher who has made an outstanding contribution to outreach in particle physics. 

The prize is £100 and a certificate.



Dr Suzie Sheehy

STFC ASTeC/Oxford University. For outstanding public engagement in accelerator science and particle physics.


Harry Cliff

For his work as Curator and Head of Content for the successful Collider exhibition and other outreach work with the Science Museum, CERN, and the Cavendish Laboratory.


Tom Whyntie

For his work establishing nationwide the CERN@school programme that has brought CERN technology into the classroom.


Alan Walker

For outreach reaching over 100,000 people through a variety of exhibitions, public events and talks.


Ben Still

For public engagement through blogs, art collaborations and school outreach, particularly in the field of neutrino physics.


Mark Stockton

For his work on developing the Minerva package for International Masterclasses.


Brian Cox

For publicising particle physics in the popular media, particularly in BBC TV and radio programmes.

The High Energy Particle Physics Group Poster Prize

The prize is awarded at the HEPP Group annual meeting, to the best posters in the poster session. The winners are chosen by High Energy Particle Physics Group committee members at the conference and the local organising committee.

A prize of not more than £100 is awarded.



Franco La Zia (DEAP-3600)
Nicola Abraham (ATLAS)
Hugo Prager (Theory)


Steve Marsden (ATLAS)


Emily Grace (Liquid Ar)


Kerry Parker (ATLAS)


Danilo Ferreira de Lima (ATLAS)


Stephen Sadler (T2K)

Group events

Find group events on our groups portal.


December 2018
December 2017
December 2016
December 2015
December 2014

Useful links

Subscribe to our newsletter to find out more about our 2019 conference.

Committee and contacts

Cookie Settings