Thesis prize

Terms of reference and Eligibility
The prize is awarded for excellence in research and communication skills, as demonstrated by the candidate's thesis. All members of the IOP Gravitational Physics Group who passed their viva voce exam during the period 30 September 2015 and 31 December 2017 are eligible.

How to enter
Candidates should complete an application form and submit it with an electronic copy of their thesis to Dr Mark Hannam ( All submissions should be made before 31 January 2018.

Prize amount: £500
Furthermore, the winner will be invited to submit a paper to Classical and Quantum Gravity based on the winning thesis which, if accepted, will be made a 'select article' in CQG. They will also be given the opportunity to present their work at one of the UK 'BritGrav' meetings.

Previous recipients

  • 2016
    Dr Daniela Saadeh (UCL)
    Testing the Isotropy of the Universe with the CMB
  • 2015
    Dr John Muddle (University of Southampton)
    Advanced Numerical Methods For Neutron Star Interfaces
  • 2014
    Dr Patricia Schmidt (Cardiff University)
    Studying and modelling the complete gravitational-wave signal from precessing black hole binaries
  • 2013
    Dr Anna Heffernan (University College Dublin)
    The Self-force Problem: Local Behaviour of the Detweiler-Whiting Singular Field
  • 2012
    Dr Cesar Simon Lopez-Monsalvo (University of Southampton)
    Covariant thermodynamics and relativity
  • 2011
    Dr John Miller (University of Glasgow)
    On non-Gaussian beams and optomechanical parametric instabilities in interferometric gravitational wave detectors
  • 2010
    Dr Barry Wardell (University College Dublin)
    Green functions and radiation reaction from a spacetime perspective
  • 2009
    Dr Emanuele Rocco (Birmingham)
    Development of a test of Newton's Law of Gravitation at micrometre distances using a Superconducting Spherical Torsion Balance
  • 2008
    Dr Julian Sonner (Cambridge)
    Aspects of Classical and Quantum Brane Dynamics

Cookie Settings