Group prize

Mansel Davies Award

The Mansel Davies Award is given for the best presentation (oral or poster) by an early career researcher at a meeting of the IOP Dielectrics Group (now merged with the IOP Electrostatics Group).  Prize money of up to £100 and certificates will be awarded to the winners. The award honours the contributions of Professor Mansel Morris Davies (b. Aberdare 24 March 1913; d. Criccieth 11 January 1995) to the Dielectrics Discussion Group (1968-74) which was renamed the Dielectrics Society in 1975, and incorporated into the IOP as the Dielectrics Group in 2001.  

Professor Davies was the driving force in establishing The Dielectrics Discussion Group as a meeting point and platform for dielectrics research in the UK and beyond. The report of the Group’s first meeting at Gregynog Hall, University of Wales, was published in Nature (Vol. 218. May 4th issue, p. 420, 1968).  He was Professor of Physical Chemistry at UCW, Aberystwyth, and made pioneering contributions to the development of high- resolution infra-red spectroscopy; dielectric loss and relaxation as a means of probing molecular behaviour; Fourier-transform infra-red spectroscopy.  He wrote the popular text book Some Electronic and Optical Aspects of Molecular Behaviour (1965), and coauthored with A.H. Price, N. Hill and W.E. Vaughan the text Dielectric Properties and Molecular Processes (1969).

Previous recipients:

Dielectrics 2015
Ilana Wisby
National Physical Laboratory / RHUL
Superconducting micro-resonators fabricated on a rare-earth ion implanted dielectric for quantum information technologies.

Dielectrophoresis 2014
Yağmur Demircan
Middle East Technical University
Label-free multidrug resistance detection in MCF-7 cells by isolated 3D-electrode dielectrophoresis

Cookie Settings