Group prize

Annual PhD Thesis Prize

Terms of reference
The Committee of the Institute of Physics Computational Group offers an annual thesis prize for the author of the PhD thesis that, in the opinion of the Committee, contributes most strongly to the advancement of computational physics.

Applications are encouraged across the entire spectrum of computational physics. Entry is open to all students from an institution in the UK or Ireland, whose PhD examination has taken place during the calendar year prior to the year of the competition.

Prize winners will be invited to write a feature article in the Computational Physics Group newsletter.

The submission deadline for candidates whose PhD examination took place in 2013 is 30 April 2014.

Submission format

  • A four page (A4) abstract
  • A one page (A4) citation from the PhD supervisor
  • A one page (A4) confidential report from the external thesis examiner

Entries (PDF documents preferred) should be submitted by email, with "IOP CPG Thesis Prize" as the subject header, to Dr Arash Mostofi ( Any queries should also be directed to Dr Arash Mostofi.

Previous recipients
20121stSabrina Blackwell
Loughborough University
2ndJames Mithen
University of Oxford
2011 Thomas Ouldridge
Oxford University
2010 Frank Siegert
Durham University
2009 Marco Pinna
University of Central Lancashire
2008 Vanessa de Souza
Cambridge University
2007 No prize awarded
2006 Vera Hazelwood
Southampton University
2005Joint 1stZhongfu Zhou
Oxford University

Alex Robinson
Imperial College London
2004Joint 1stNeil Drummond
Cambridge University

Nick Parker
Durham University
2ndArash Mostofi
Cambridge University
2003 No prize awarded
20021stDavid Walters
University of Wales, Swansea
2ndHans Fanghor
Southampton University
Joint 3rdPatrick Rinke
University of York

Emiliano Spezi
University of Wales, Cardiff
2001 Paula Sanchez-Friera
University of York