The New Science and Innovation Agenda


Dr Ian Pearson MP
Minister of State for Science and Innovation

Dr Ian Pearson MP

Following a career in the economic development industry Ian Pearson was elected Member for Dudley West in 1994 and has been Member for Dudley South since 1997. In his time in government Ian has moved from being the Minister for Trade in the FCO, to Minister for Climate Change and the Environment within DEFRA and is now the Minister of State for Science and Innovation in DIUS.

From 1989 to 1994 Ian worked at WMEB Group, becoming joint chief executive. WMEB is a West Midlands-based economic development company, providing development capital to small and medium sized companies and consultancy to a range of public and private sector clients.

Sir John Chisholm
Chairman of QinetiQ and the MRC 

Sir John Chisholm

After graduating from Cambridge with a degree in Mechanical Sciences, Sir John worked as an apprentice with General Motors before embarking on a hugely successful career in the technology industries. In 1991 Sir John was tasked with bringing together the  UK Defence Research Establishments to form one new organisation which was to become DERA and subsequently QinetiQ.  Sir John became the Chairman of QinetiQ in 2005 and was appointed Chairman of the MRC in 2006.

Sir John is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, the Royal Aeronautical Society, the IOP, and is the immediate past President and trustee of the Institution of Engineering & Technology.

He holds honorary Doctor of Engineering degrees from the Universities of Bath, Southampton and Brunel. Sir John has been President of the Electrical Engineering Association and was a founder member of the  UK Government's Technology Foresight programme.

If you require any further information or have any queries, email