STEM 4 Britain poster competition

28 March 2017

On Monday 13 March 2017, Mark Telling (STFC, IOP London and South East), Elizabeth Cunningham (STFC, IOP South Central), Heather Williams (Central Manchester University Hospitals, IOP Women In Physics Group), Klaus Suhling (UCL, IOP LSE) and Jennifer Brookes (UCL, IOP LSE) were invited to judge the physics category of the prestigious STEM 4 Britain poster competition for early-career researchers.

Sponsored by Stephen Metcalfe MP, chairman of the STEM for Britain organising group of the Parliamentary and Scientific Committee, and held at the House of Commons during this year’s British Science Week, the aim of STEM for Britain is to encourage, support and promote early-stage and early-career research scientists, engineers, technologists and mathematicians who are an essential part of continuing progress in, and development of, UK research and R&D. In order to encourage maximum participation by both early-career researchers and Members of Parliament the competition is divided into five subject areas: biological and biomedical science, chemistry, physics, engineering and mathematics

The judging panel were first charged, in late 2016, with whittling more than 70 physics-based submissions down to just 30 finalists, and then ranking the finalists on the night. STEM for Britain awards focus on not only the very best research work and results by an early-stage or early-career researcher but also their ability to communicate their work to a lay audience.

Mark (chair of judges) remarked: “With topics ranging from asteroid formation to graphene origami, as well as highly engaging presentations from all competitors, deciding upon the medallist was no easy task. However, it is clear from the enthusiasm generated by events such as this, and the high-level research presented, that the future of UK physics-focussed research and R&D is in very capable hands.”

The winners of the STEM for BRITAIN 2017 physics category were:
Gold Award: Soraya Caixeiro, King’s College London, Biocompatible random lasing
Silver Award: Dr Matthew Aldous, University of Southampton, Enabling technologies for integrated quantum sensors
Bronze Award: Katherine Kendrick, University of Leeds, Protein-DNA interactions adapted to temperature extremes at the single-molecule level

Congratulations to all,

(on behalf of the judges)
Photo: John Deehan Photography Ltd

Cookie Settings