Isenberg receives Fellowship

19 September 2012

At its annual meeting at the University of Aberdeen, from 3 -9 September 2012, the British Science Association (BSA) awarded Honorary Fellowships for ‘Engaging and inspiring adults and young people with Science and Technology’ and ‘Promoting openness about Science and Society’.

Issenberg received Fellowship

Dr Cyril Isenberg, from the University of Kent’s School of Engineering and Digital Arts, received an Honorary Fellowship (FBSA) from the Association president, Lord Krebs, reading:

"Dr Cyril Isenberg is one of the pioneers of the popularization of physics. He has been a member of the Association for many years and has been particularly active within the physics section, working on the committee as the treasurer and as section president. He has given hundreds of talks, enhanced with experimental demonstrations to audiences from primary school pupils to pensioners. Since 1984 he has organized the British Physics Olympiad competition for A-level students and has also organized the International Physics Olympiad in the UK."

Among the other recipients were Professor Brian Cox OBE, University of Manchester, and Professor Lisa Jardine, Queen Mary, University of London.

The BSA, under its original name of The British Association, was established in York in 1831 and first met in Aberdeen in 1859. The current chair of the Association is Professor Dame Julia Goodfellow.

Cookie Settings