Council vacancies: call for nominations

I am writing to inform you about the vacancies that will arise on Council in 2017 and the process by which members may nominate themselves. There are six vacancies arising on Council this year to serve a four-year term from 1 October 2017 to 30 September 2021:

  • President-elect
  • Honorary Secretary
  • Vice-President, Membership
  • Ordinary Member (three vacancies)

All corporate members of the Institute (ie, those in the category of MInstP, FInstP and Hon.FInstP) are eligible to nominate themselves. The bylaws setting out the electoral process were updated in 2011 to one of self-nomination. This process was introduced to allow more opportunity for individual members to stand for election and a better opportunity to address diversity issues in the membership of Council.

The Nominations Committee assesses all nominations and shortlists candidates who have the skills and experience to contribute to Council’s work and who can demonstrate a passion and commitment to the Institute and to physics. To be able to operate effectively and make good decisions, Council believes that it is important that the governing body reflects the full breadth of the Institute’s activities and the diversity of its membership in terms of scientific areas of interest, geography, age and gender.

Where there are more nominations than vacancies in any of the four categories of vacancy a first-past-the-post ballot will be held and the results announced at the Annual General Meeting to be held on 13 July 2017.

Nominations may be submitted in writing or by email to Simon Kellas, head of governance (, and should state the full name, membership number and a statement of no more than 500 words in support of the candidacy, taking into account those areas set out in the role descriptions where Council has identified a need to strengthen its expertise and skills.

All nominations will be treated in confidence. This statement is for use as part of the nominations process only and candidates for election will have the opportunity to submit an updated or new statement for use on the ballot paper.

Further information can be found here about the role of trustees along with role descriptions and person specifications for each of the vacancies.

Nominations must be received no later than 1 April 2017.

Professor Stuart Palmer FREng CPhys FInstP
Honorary Secretary

Cookie Settings