Current initiatives

Our Diversity and Inclusion Committee is currently chaired by Dr Mark Hughes, from the physics department at the University of Manchester, and we have a Diversity Champion on Council who is currently Dr June McCombie, from the chemistry department at the University of Nottingham. Our Head of Diversity, Jenni Dyer, and our Diversity co-ordinator, Angela Townsend, manage and run the diversity programme and projects.

Our current project priorities include Project Juno and the extension of Juno to include Juno Excellence and a new principle on harassment and bullying, establishing our LGBT+ network and programme of activities and building on our report Building Momentum on inclusive learning in undergraduate physics.

Please contact us at if you wish to discuss any aspect of diversity within the physics community or at the IOP.

Cookie Settings