David Tabor Medal and Prize


In 2008 Council established the David Tabor Medal and Prize.

The physicist behind the medal
David Tabor was an experimental physicist who was responsible for founding the field of tribology – the study of friction between surfaces. As well as establishing the discipline he pioneered an interdisciplinary approach, working to involve chemists, metallurgists and engineers.

He was instrumental in founding the IOP Tribology Group, and served as its first chair. Tabor was a fellow of the Royal Society and a winner of its Royal Medal, as well as the IOP’s Guthrie Medal and Prize.

The award shall be made for distinguished contributions to surface or nanoscale physics. The medal will be silver and will be accompanied by a prize of £1,000 and a certificate.

David Tabor medal recipients


Cookie Settings