Silver Subject Medals

Our silver medals are awarded annually to recognise and reward distinguished contributions to physics.

Previously our silver medals were awarded in odd and even dated years. However, from 2017 this practice has changed to allow recognition of the highest quality research within the broader categories below and to accommodate new and emerging areas. There are three new medals in education, outreach and soft matter physics.

The Awards Committee will select one winner from each category; therefore nine medals will be awarded every year.

Theoretical (including mathematical and computational) physics 

  • John William Strutt, Lord Rayleigh Medal and Prize

Astrophysics and plasma physics

  • Fred Hoyle Medal and Prize 
  • Cecelia Payne-Gaposchkin Medal and Prize

Nuclear and particle physics

  • Ernest Rutherford Medal and Prize 
  •  James Chadwick Medal and Prize

Condensed matter, materials, surface and nanoscale physics

  • Nevill Mott Medal and Prize
  • David Tabor Medal and Prize

Soft condensed matter and physics applied to life sciences 

  • Sam Edwards Medal and Prize
  • Rosalind Franklin Medal and Prize

Atomic, molecular, optics and quantum technologies

  • Thomas Young Medal and Prize
  • Joseph Thomson Medal and Prize

Applied and environmental physics

  • James Joule Medal and Prize
  • Edward Appleton Medal and Prize

Industrial application of physics

  • Dennis Gabor Medal and Prize

Physics education and to widening participation within it and public engagement within physics

  • Marie Curie-Sklodowska Medal and Prize
  • Lise Meitner Medal and Prize

Cookie Settings