Nevill Mott Medal and Prize

This award was instituted by the Council of the Institute of Physics in 1997 to commemorate Sir Nevill Mott FRS, President of The Physical Society from 1956 to 1958 and Nobel Laureate in physics in 1977 who died in 1996.

The physicist behind the medal
Sir Nevill Mott was a British physicist who shared the Philip W Anderson and JH Van Vleck for work on the electronic properties of disordered systems, particularly amorphous semiconductors. He served as president of the Physical Society over 1956–58.

He carried out research in Cambridge under RH Fowler, in Copenhagen under Niels Bohr and in Göttingen under Max Born, and lectured in Manchester alongside William Lawrence Bragg. Mott was a fellow of the Royal Society and a winner of its Copley Medal, Hughes Medal and Royal Medal, as well as the IET’s Faraday Medal.

The award shall be made for distinguished contributions to condensed matter or materials physics. The medal will be silver and will be accompanied by a prize of £1,000 and a certificate.

Nevill Mott medal recipients






Cookie Settings