Hoyle medal recipients

Professor David Lyth
Lancaster University
For his contributions to particle cosmology, in particular to the origin of the structure of the universe.

Professor Carlos S Frenk
Institute for Computational Cosmology, University of Durham
For his major contributions to the development of the now widely accepted cold dark matter model by using cosmological simulations, novel methods for calculating the physics of galaxy formation and analysis of galaxy surveys.

Professor Michael Rowan-Robinson
Imperial College London
For his pioneering research in infrared and submillimetre astronomy, and observational cosmology.