Dennis Gabor Medal and Prize

In 2008 Council established the Dennis Gabor Medal and Prize. This had originally been known as the Duddell medal and prize, which was instituted in 1923 as a memorial to William du Bois Duddell, the inventor of the electromagnetic oscillography. Between 1961 and 1973 the award was made in alternate years, from 1975 it was awarded annually and from 2009 in even-dated years until 2017.

The physicist behind the medal
Dennis Gabor was a Hungarian–British physicist and the inventor of holography, for which he was awarded the 1971 Nobel Prize in Physics. In 1933 Gabor fled Nazi Germany, where he had been researching electron optics at the Technical University of Berlin, and came to the UK, where he began work at the engineering firm British Thomson-Houston.

He invented holography there in 1947, although holograms didn’t become commercially available until after the invention of the laser in 1960. Gabor was a fellow of the Royal Society and a winner of its Rumford Medal as well as the IEEE’s Medal of Honour and the Young Medal and Prize of the Institute of Physics.

The award will be made for distinguished contributions to the application of physics in an industrial, commercial or business context. The medal will be silver and will be accompanied by a prize of £1000 and a certificate.



Cookie Settings