The Rayleigh medal and prize

Rayleigh Award Medal

In 2008 Council established the Rayleigh medal and prize.

John William Strutt, third Baron Rayleigh, was a British physicist who discovered Argon.  He also explained how light scattering is responsible for red colour of sunset and blue colour of sky.  He was awarded the Nobel Prize for physics in 1904.

The award is made biennially in odd dated years.

The award shall be made for distinguished research in theoretical, mathematical or computational physics. The medal will be accompanied by a prize of £1000 and a certificate.