Silver medals

Our silver medals are awarded annually to recognise and reward distinguished contributions to physics.

Previously our silver medals were awarded in odd and even dated years. However, from 2017 this practice has changed to allow recognition of the highest quality research within the broader categories below and to accommodate new and emerging areas. There are three new medals in education, outreach and soft matter physics.

The Awards Committee will select one winner from each category, therefore nine medals will be awarded every year.

Theoretical (including mathematical and computational) physics 
John William Strutt, Lord Rayleigh Medal and Prize

Astrophysics and plasma physics
Fred Hoyle Medal and Prize or Cecelia Payne-Gasposchkin Medal and Prize

Nuclear and particle physics
Ernest Rutherford Medal and Prize or James Chadwick Medal and Prize

Condensed matter, materials, surface and nanoscale physics
Nevill Mott Medal and Prize or David Tabor Medal and Prize

Soft condensed matter and life sciences physics
Sam Edwards Medal and Prize or Rosalind Franklin Medal and Prize

Atomic, molecular, optics and quantum technologies
Thomas Young Medal and Prize or Joseph Thomson Medal and Prize

Applied and environmental physics
James Joule Medal and Prize or Edward Appleton Medal and Prize

Industrial application of physics
Dennis Gabor Medal and Prize

Physics education and to widening participation within it and public engagement within physics
Marie Curie-Sklodowska Medal and Prize or Lise Meitner Medal and Prize