President's medal recipients

Professor Douglas J Paul
University of Glasgow, School of Engineering
For his outstanding contributions to the translation of university physics research into advanced technology.

Professor Brian Cox
University of Manchester
In recognition of his achievements in promoting science to the general public and inspiring the next generation of physicists.

Professor Datuk Dr Mazlan Othman
United Nations Office for Outer Space Affairs
In recognition for her work in developing astronomy education in Malaysia and her leading national and international role in space science, through her setting up of the Malaysian Space Agency and as Director of United Nations Office for Outer Space Affairs.

Professor Sir Michael Atiyah
University of Edinburgh
In recognition of his outstanding contributions to a broad range of topics in mathematics, many of which have provided highly significant foundations to the development of theoretical physics; and of his eminent leadership within the scientific community.

Sir Timothy Berners-Lee
Director of the World Wide Web Consortium
In recognition of his outstanding contribution to the development of the World Wide Web.

Edouard Brézin

Sir Martin Wood

Jerome I Friedman

Lord Dainton