Phillips Award

The Phillips Award was established in 2011 to recognise individuals who have given distinguished service to the Institute of Physics.

Major C E S Phillips was one of the founders of the Institute of Physics in 1920 and served as Honorary Treasurer from 1929 to 1945. He was a distinguished pioneer in medical physics and also served as President of the British Institute of Radiology in 1930-31 and Honorary Secretary of the Royal Institution.

Awards shall be made for:

  • Innovative ideas or activities which have made a major contribution to IOP objectives
  • A leading role in one or more of the Groups and Branches
  • A leading role in the Institute‚Äôs formal governance - Council, its Boards and Committees
  • A significant contribution to external influence of IOP

Deadline for nominations - 31 July 2017.


  • View the recipients of the award's citations.

last edited: November 08, 2017