Jocelyn Bell Burnell Medal and Prize

This award has been established since 2007 as the Women in Physics Group Prize and was originally known as the Very Early Career Female Physicist Award. In 2016 Council incorporated the award into the IOP awards programme and subsequently renamed it the Jocelyn Bell Burnell Medal and Prize.

The physicist behind the medal
Professor Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell famously discovered the first four pulsars – one of the constituent discoveries that led to the award of the Nobel Prize in Physics to Martin Ryle and Antony Hewish in 1974. It was very much as a result of her persistence that these exotic and unexpected objects were first recognised.
She was one of a group of senior female scientists whose efforts led to the creation of the Athena SWAN awards recognising commitment to advancing the careers of women in science. Bell Burnell served as presidents of the Royal Astronomical Society, the Royal Society of Edinburgh and the Institute of Physics.

This award is self-nomination only.

The award shall be made to a female who, as of 31 January 2019, is within five years of the award of her first undergraduate (bachelor's or master's) degree in physics, not including career breaks, and is either working in a physics based role eg researcher, graduate trainee or teacher or engaged in postgraduate study in physics, in recognition of a substantial contribution to physics and work to support and encourage others in the field. 

To be eligible your undergraduate degree must be listed on The eligibility of those holding non-UK degrees, will be judged on a case by case basis, primarily looking at the degree title.



Cookie Settings