The Best Practice in Professional Development Awards 2016 are open for entries

Rewarding your commitment, developing your people.

Why should you enter?
The awards aim to commend, celebrate and promote the very best in training and professional development opportunities for physicists. Winning a Best Practice Award could be the ideal way to demonstrate your values when it comes to managing your people and showing your commitment to the vital role physics has to play in our society.

Who are the Best Practice Awards for?
To be in the running for the Best Practice Award, your organisation will need to demonstrate that it has a formal career path in place for physicists, such as a structured training scheme. You will also need to show how you encourage the professional development of staff, recognise the specific skills of your people and promote a sensible work-life balance. Finally, you’ll need to demonstrate concrete steps to promote the value of physics in our society.

The award is made to an organisation as a whole rather than a specific department, and is valid for three years. It is not limited to one winner per year. Awards are presented at the Institute’s annual awards dinner, and winners are profiled on our website and in our publications. Previous winners include AMEC Foster Wheeler, CRA Risk Analysis and Sharp Laboratories.

The winners of the IOP's Best Practice in Professional Development Awards share their thoughts on what the award means for them:

The closing date for entries is 30 June 2016.

Related information

Continuing Professional Development

Best Practice in Professional Development Awards