Scottish audience hears about IOP and the physics of beer

Scottish audience hears about IOP and the physics of beer

15 June 2018

The physics of beer and what produces and sustains its characteristic head of foam were explored in an IOP event in Glasgow organised for our affiliates and guests in Scotland, who also heard about the Institute’s work in education and public engagement in Scotland

All news  


RSS Feed

Laser Ultrasonics 2018 Programme
Programme overview now available online.

5th Superconductivity Summer School
Registration deadline: 2 July 2018

Photon 2018
Programme now available online.

Laser Ultrasonics 2018
Registration is now available

Towards the THz Imaging of Cancer
Registration deadline: 5 July 2018

20 June

  • 1840 Samuel Morse is granted a patent for his invention of the telegraph

  • 1877 The first commercial telephone service in the world is installed by Alexander Graham Bell in Hamilton, Ontario in Canada
  • 1990 Discovery of the asteroid 5261 Eureka, the first of a group of “Trojan” asteroids found that share an orbit with Mars, orbiting at its L5 Lagrangian point
  • Physics in Perspective
    Watch talks from well-renowned physicists at our lecture series; you may even learn a thing or two

  • Schools lecture series
    The schools lectures feature topics from the Olympics to rock music. Plenty of physics to learn too!

Fundraising campaign

We have launched the first comprehensive fundraising initiative for the Institute of Physics.

Find out more

Follow us!/PhysicsNews

Other IOP websites

More than a physics publisher

News, views and information for the global physics community

Your guide to physics on the web

A platform for IOP-hosted journal content

Jobs at the Institute of Physics

Jobs for physicists in a wide range of academic and industrial sectors

A digital forum for teachers, technicians and their supporters